Aleksandrovi? Winery

From the time immemorial the rolling hills of Oplenac were used to cultivate vines. A place of origin of the family Aleksandrovi? has deep connections with the ancient past.

During the Roman times that place was called Vincea, while in the Middle Ages it was called Vinica. Today the place is called Vin?a – which is a direct connection and association with the main activity of the local population. In the beginning of the XX century in nearby Vin?a, the Ven?ac Winemaking Cooperative was founded, and then vineyards and cellar of the Serbian and Yugoslav kings Peter I and Alexander I Kara?or?evi?, who spread the glory of wines from Oplenac far and wide, throughout Europe. The Aleksandrovi? family cultivates vines and makes wines for more than a century. From the very beginning they cooperated closely with the royal viticulturists and cellar masters and also were among founders of the Vin?a Winemaking Cooperative.

 When the famous royal cellar master Živan Tadi?, who immigrated to Canada after the World War Two, learned that the family Aleksandrovi? was restoring winemaking tradition of Oplenac, he consequently sent to Vin?a the original recipe – a blend composition of Trijumf – the best wine from the royal cellars. Trijumf was enjoyed on various royal courts before the World War Two. Therefore, in our cellar, based on yellow manuscript, we started writing new pages of the long family history of winemaking, relying on our ancestors’ experience, latest scientific advances and modern technology.

 

A village of Vin?a, at the foot of Oplenac, where Aleksandrovi? Winery is situated, was always known for viticulture and winemaking. Sunny slopes, a rich structure of the soil, favorable winds and mild climate represent a natural gift which is translated to the top quality wines from Aleksandrovi? Winery.

 

By applying the latest technology, carefully following global trends, scientific advances and the proud tradition of our older generations, Aleksandrovi? winery became the leader among the wine producers within the entire Balkan region.

In addition to wine production Aleksandrovi? Winery is engaged with the wine tourism. More than 15,000 people visit our winery annually, which clearly shows the very high level of services they offer. Their arrived both individually or as a part of the organized group visits.

It is possible to visit  vineyards and winery together with a qualified guide and also to taste all our wines. Apart from well-known brands such as Trijumf, Trijumf Barrique, Oplenac Selection, Harizma and Varijanta, wine lovers also may taste Trijumf Noir, Vizija and Rodoslov wines. Tasting room has a capacity to accommodate 60 people at any time.

Welcome to Aleksandrovi? Winery .

Lepenski Vir

Lepenski Vir is an important Mesolithic archaeological site located in Serbia in central Balkan peninsula. The latest radiocarbon and AMS data suggests that the chronology of Lepenski Vir is compressed between 9500/7200-6000 BC. There is some disagreement about the early start of the settlement and culture of Lepenskir Vir. But the latest data suggest 9500-7200 to be the start. The late Lepenskir Vir (6300-6000 BC) architectural development was the development of the Trapezoidal buildings and monumental sculpture The Lepenskir Vir site consists of one large settlement with around ten satellite villages. Numerous piscine sculptures and peculiar architecture have been found at the site.

Lepenski Vir is located on the banks of the Danube in eastern Serbia, within the Iron Gates gorge, near Donji Milanovac. The first excavations were made on the site in 1965. In 1966 it was listed as a cultural monument of Yugoslavia. It was only in 1967 that its importance was fully understood after the discovery of the first Mesolithic sculptures. The excavations ended in 1971 when the whole site was relocated 29.7m higher to avoid flooding from a new artificial lake created in the Iron Gates gorge. The main contribution to exploration of this site was through the work of professor Dragoslav Srejovi? of the University of Belgrade. 136 buildings, settlements and altars were found in the initial excavations in 1965-1970. Lepenski Vir was declared a Monument of Culture of Exceptional Importance in 1979, and it is protected by the Republic of Serbia.

Lepenski Vir

The main site consists of several archeological phases starting with Proto-Lepenski Vir, then Lepenski Vir Ia-e, Lepenski Vir II and Lepenski Vir III, whose occupation spanned well over a millennium from the Mesolithic to the Neolithic period. A number of satellite villages belonging to the same culture and time period were discovered in the surrounding area. These additional sites include Hajducka Vodenica, Padina, Vlasac, Ikaona, Kladovska Skela and others. Found artifacts include tools made from stone and bones, the remains of houses, and numerous sacral objects including unique stone sculptures.

It is assumed that the people of Lepenski Vir culture represent the descendants of the early European population of the Brno-P?edmostí (Czech Republic) hunter gatherer culture from the end of the last ice age. Archeological evidence of human habitation of the surrounding caves dates back to around 20,000 BC. The first settlement on the low plateau dates back to 9500-7200 BC, a time when the climate became significantly warmer.

Seven successive settlements were discovered on the Lepenski Vir site, with the remains of 136 residential and sacral buildings dating from 9500/7200 BC to 6000 BC.

All the settlements follow the shape of the underlying terrain, a horseshoe-shaped plateau. Settlements always face the direction of the river, which was the obvious focus of life for its inhabitants. The basic layout of the settlement consists of two separate wings and a wide empty central space which served the purpose of a village square or meeting place. The settlement is radially divided with numerous pathways leading to the edge of the river. The outer edges of the village are parallel to the surrounding cliffs.

Lepenski Vir

Domestic objects represent the transition from tent structure to house. All the houses share a very distinct shape, built according to a complicated geometric pattern. The basis of each of the houses is a circle segment of exactly 60 degrees, constructed in the manner of an equilateral triangle.

The interior of each house includes a fireplace in the form of an elongated rectangle, placed on the long axis of the floorplan. These fireplaces were built from massive rectangular stone blocks. The fireplaces are further extended with stone block to create some kind of a small shrine in the back of the house. These shrines were always decorated with sculptures carved from massive round river stones and represent perhaps river gods or ancestors. Another significant feature of the houses is a shallow circular depression in the ground placed precisely in the exact middle. This may represent some kind of an altar.

The Lepenski Vir sculptures are numerous prehistoric figurines dating from 7000 BC found intact in the Lepenski Vir. The earliest sculptures found on the site date to the time of Lepenski Vir Ib settlement. They are present in all the following layers until the end of the distinct Lepenski vir culture. All the sculptures were carved from round sandstone cobbles found on the river banks.

Lepenski Vir

The sculptures can be separated in two distinct categories, one with simple geometric patterns and the other representing humanoid figures. The latter are the most interesting. All of these figural sculptures were modelled in a naturalistic and strongly expressionistic manner. Only the head and face of the human figures were modelled realistically, with strong brow arches, an elongated nose, and a wide, fish-like mouth. Hair, beard, arms and hands can be seen on some of the figures in a stylized form. Many fish-like features can be noticed. Along with the position which these sculptures had in the house shrine, they suggest a connection with river gods

Saint Ten – New 5* Hotel in Belgrade

The brand new Saint Ten 5* hotel is suited in the old building in Svetog Save 10 Street that was built by the famous architect Stojan Veljkovic in 1929. Veljkovic family has a long family history that left a tremendous mark in the history of Belgrade. As a well-known family they were involved in politics since their existence and were owners of many buildings and even of the first Bank of Vracar. Stojan Veljkovic was a popular architect of that time. As a polite, handsome and well educated man he is known for unique architectural style that shows in many buildings in our city. History shows that he was a mason, thus he used many masonic symbols in his architectural expression and this can be clearly seen in our hotels façade.

Besides the beautiful architecture and the famous family background the old building was used to host many important political events in the history of former Yugoslavia. The history of the building is under the veil of many political gatherings. The one that stands out is the famous Cvetkovic Macek Covenant that represents a historical moment for the past of our country.

Saint Ten - New 5* Hotel in Belgrade

The rumor has it that the famous MI6 agents were paid out in this building too. But this is the mystical part of the entire building and its concept that we let our guests discover for themselves. In order to preserve the importance of this location and all the events that took place in this old building, our Ministry Suites with their unique balconies were preserved in respect of the heritage that the building carries. Through interior and exterior design we aim to retain the historical charm in fusion with the modern architecture creating a perfect blend that is rare and unique in this city.

Saint Ten - New 5* Hotel in Belgrade

SAINT TEN Hotel features 54 rooms and suites which reflect the residential luxury of Vracar. We offer an intimate luxury ambience in an environment where every aspect of the hotel was designed with attention to details incorporating all the functionalities needed to assure the luxury level of service and comfort for all our guests.

The hotel was built in a sustainable manner to satisfy the highest needs of business guests. With our uniquely personalized service and special attention to details we offer our guests world class amenities and a memorable stay.

Featuring a fine dining restaurant with an irresistible menu inspired by local produce and worldwide cuisines, our SANCTUS Restaurant offer the perfect food fusion tailor-made to satisfy even the most peculiar tastes.

Moreover, the SAINT TEN Hotel also features THE COVENANT MEETING ROOMS, 5 meeting spaces ideal for your business meetings or conferences tailor-made to meet the highest demands of business guests. As a creative alternative for special events SAINT TEN offers a multifunctional space located on the 6th Floor with an open terrace specially designed for both cocktails and board meetings or special events such as private dinners or birthdays in a fully equipped room.

Saint Ten - New 5* Hotel in Belgrade

Treat yourself with an unforgettable experience and stay at SAINT TEN Hotel, our comfort and personalized service are designed for those who appreciate a supreme standard, highest elegance and have a taste for unique experiences.

 

Experience Belgrade in different way

Winter months can be “not-so-interesting” in Belgrade. Snow, cold wind and trees without leafs don’t inspire people about anything… But!
We have asked our 80-years-old compañero Branko to pick up our clients from Belgrade Airport “Nikola Tesla” by his 80-and-something-years old bus and to bring them downtown. Smile on their faces has encouraged us to tell them the truth: “Welcome to Belgrade, we are very sorry about the bus, this one is the youngest that we could find”.
Since our clients appreciated the old bus very much, we have decided to offer them a unique city experience – an unforgettable and memorable drive in a 40-year-old Yugo cars. While having a ride in these cars, they have experienced a part of the history in a car that was named after the country that does not exist anymore – Yugoslavia.
And just for the record, we didn’t just drive our clients through the city, we also enjoyed delicious Balkan cuisine in few Belgrade restaurants.

Talas S DMC @IBTM 2016, Barcelona

IBTM world is the leading global event for the meetings, incentives, conferences, events and business travel industry, taking place in Barcelona. The event gathers meetings industry professionals for three days of focused business opportunities, thought provoking professional education and networking to drive your business into the future.

This year, like last year, Talas S DMC will be part of this top notch event for the most influence people in MICE  industry . We are very pleased to offer new innovate products from the growing Serbian market.

The show is constantly evolving and innovating to stay ahead of the market. Global exhibitors and industry professionals gather to attend each year and the unique Hosted Buyer Programme sets the show apart from other exhibitions, hosting top level decision makers who place international business, and facilitating one to one appointments between exhibitors and buyers.

Monument of Gratitude to France

On 11 November 1930, the 12th anniversary day of the end of the First World War, a memorial of gratitude to France in Belgrade’s Veliki Kalemegdan Park was formally unveiled in the presence of King Alexander and Queen Maria, the royal government, the delegation of the French government, Serbian war veterans, distinguished citizens, associations, schools, and a large crowd of people.

In the decisive days of the war after the epic battles of the Serbian Army, its perilous withdrawal across Albania and the almost inconceivable feat of breaching the enemy lines on the Salonika (Macedonian) Front, a military alliance and friendship between two countries had been forged. After the war, Serbian intellectuals gathered around the Association of French Schools Alumni and the Society of Friends of France initiated erection, in Belgrade or Paris, of a monument to France, as a token of gratitude for her military and educational aid during and after the war, and of the friendship built in the days of greatest trials. In 1924 the Committee for Erecting a Monument chaired by Niko Miljani? (1892–1957), a physician, one of the founders of the Belgrade University School of Medicine, was set up. The Committee succeeded in raising considerable funds within a short span of time. Of relevance to the history of the monument is also the year 1921, when Belgrade City Council made the decision to erect a gratitude and honor memorial to the French soldiers who had lost their lives defending Belgrade in 1915.

After the war, the Kingdom of Serbia ceased existing as such, becoming part of a newly created complex state, the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes, subsequently Yugoslavia, and Belgrade, as its capital, saw a period of reconstruction and embellishment. In 1928, the City Council of Belgrade allocated a parcel of land in Kalemegdan, formerly possessed by the Army, for the monument: “in the most beautiful part of Kalemegdan Park, which commands one of the most beautiful European landscapes, and in the vicinity of which the home of France will be rising soon” (the French embassy built in 1928–32). France responded to this gesture by setting up monuments to King Peter I the Liberator and King Alexander I the Unifier in Paris, memorials in Orleans and Marseilles, and by naming one of central Paris avenues after King Peter I of Serbia.

The design of the monument was entrusted to the world renowned Croatian sculptor Ivan Mestrovic , who made a model in his Zagreb studio . The sculpture was cast in fourteen pieces at the Art Foundry of the Academy of Fine Arts using the lost wax technique. The pieces were joined to form two halves of the vertically divided sculpture, transported to Belgrade and assembled together on the site. The monumental figure, over four meters tall, represents France rushing to Serbia’s aid. The expressive movement of the allegorical female figure, an important motif in Mestrovic’s sculptural work, evokes and glorifies the national spirit of France, suggesting energy, leadership, courage and faith.

Engraved on its front are the year of erection and the dedication “A la France”, and on the back, the inscription “We love France as she loved us 1914–1918”.

Military Museum, Belgrade

The Military Museum  in Belgrade was founded in 1878. The museum has over 3000 ancient and modern items. These include Roman swords and helmets, Greek helmets and daggers, Serbian heavy knight’s armor, axes, shields, helmets, crossbows, armored gloves, as well as Western medieval weapons. There are also more modern guns, firearms, and elements of soldier’s uniforms and equipment. Dioramas, plaques, and displays illustrate the use and historical context of the museum’s collection. It was founded by the Decree of Prince Milan Obrenovi? IV on August 22, 1878 on preposition of Minister of the Army, colonel Sava Gruji?.

The first permanent display was opened in 1904, coinciding with the 100th Anniversary of the Serbian Revolution and as a part of King Petar`s Coronation Ceremonies. Soon after its foundation, the Museum entered Europe by participating in the Balkan Expo in London in 1907. There, with around 100 carefully chosen objects, the Museum attracted the attention of the London public and it was described in local newspapers. The Museum’s building was destroyed by Austro-Hungarian forces during the First World War, and countless priceless collections were destroyed or were seized. Again, more than two decades had past before the new Display opened. King Alexandar I Karadjordjevi? issued a Decree of Founding the Military Museum in the Kingdom of Yugoslavia. Brigadier Vojislav Vukovi?, major of Royal Court, became the director of the Museum. The Systematical collecting of objects started and numerous donors, former soldiers and their descendants responded. Their names were signed in a special “Golden Book”, the work of famous Russian artist Vsevolod Guljevi?. The book is still kept in the Military Museum. A new, permanent Display was opened in 1937 in two buildings of which one is today a residence of City Bureau for the Preservation of Monuments.

During the Second World War, the collections suffered new devastation. However, according to the program of occupation troops, some cultural institutions with Military Museums among them continued their work during the occupation. The collecting of objects and their preservation was the main responsibility of the museum staff. The Allied bombing of Belgrade in 1944 brought new destruction of the museum buildings and collections. Inside the museum’s main building, the exhibits are found in a single long hall progressing from ancient through medieval and then towards modern. All exhibits are labeled in the Serbian Language in both Cyrillic and Latin, as well as English. Outside the museum’s main building, there are numerous tanks, howitzers, and armored cars of many types. Some were acquired during World War II, when they were captured by the Red Army and Yugoslav Partisans from retreating Nazi and Axis forces (Belgrade Offensive). These decommissioned tanks and artillery pieces line the walls and paths leading into the Military Museum from two directions. Recent exhibits address NATO actions against Serbia in 1999, including the controversial use of cluster bombs, depleted uranium, and graphite bombs, some of which are claimed to be in violation of international law. A well-known exhibit features parts of a US F-117 stealth aircraft which was downed by a Serbian S-125 Neva/Pechora. The Military Museum is located inside the walls of the historic Belgrade Fortress, situated at the confluence of the Sava and Danube rivers. The Belgrade Fortress is located within a popular park known as the Kalemegdan Park, near the center of the city.

Great view from Avala Tower

The Avala Tower is a 204.5 m (671 ft) tall telecommunication tower located on Avala mountain in the periphery of Belgrade. The original tower was finished in 1965, but was destroyed by the NATO bombardment of Serbia on 29 April 1999. On 21 December 2006, the reconstruction of Avala Tower commenced and the tower was officially opened at a ceremony on 21 April 2010. It is currently the tallest tower in the Balkan region.

The views from the monument and the tower are tremendous. The views from the top of the tower itself are really great.

avalski-toranj-02

The tower was designed by architects Uglješa Bogdanovi? and Slobodan Janji?, and engineer Milan Krsti?. Construction started on 14 October 1961 and was completed four years later in 1965. The tower weighed 4,000 tonnes (3,900 long tons; 4,400 short tons). Between 102 m (335 ft) and 135 m (443 ft), there was an enclosed observation deck. It was the only tower in the world to have an equilateral triangle as its cross section, and one of very few towers not perched directly into the ground, but standing on its legs. The legs formed a tripod, the symbol of Serbian tripod chair. It is one of the small number of towers to be constructed in that manner.

avalski-toranj-04
The Avala Tower was destroyed on 29 April 1999 by NATO bombardment. The Avala Tower was a symbol of pride and a famous landmark, not only of Belgrade and Serbia, but of the former Yugoslavia too. The tower was one of the last buildings to be destroyed before the end of the NATO operation. A special bomb was used to destroy the tower.
In 2004, Radio Television Serbia commenced a series of fund-raising events in order to collect money to construct the building once again at the same place it was destroyed.

In 2005, clearing of the site where the tower was destroyed began and on 21 December 2006 the construction of a new Avala Tower commenced. The opening date was 29 April 2009, the tenth anniversary of its destruction.

Radovanovi? Winery – In The Heart of Šumadija

In 1990, in the well preserved vineyard of his grandfather’s, in Krnjevo, the heart of Šumadija, Miodrag Mija Radovanovi? established Podrum Radovanovi?, the first Serbian privately owned winery striving to make high quality wines. When it was established, the winery was the first small private winery in Serbia.

“We had only one goal, which was to produce high quality wine that would bring Serbian viticulture closer to global standards. We are still on the same path, in search for the best wine that one day would place Šumadija, and the whole of Serbia, on the top of global viticulture.”

The origins of wine story for Radovanovi? family from Krnjevo, near Velika Plana go back to early 20th century, when Miloš Radovanovi? planted his first vineyards. The current chapter of Podrum Radovanovi? started in 1990 when Miodrag Radovanovi? decided to restore his grandfather’s estate and plant his first vine. The Rhein Riesling is still where it has always been, growing together with our winery for the past twenty five years.

The tiles in this mosaic have been carefully stacked, so that today Podrum Radovanovi? is one of the most renowned private wineries in Serbia, and beyond, which produces high quality wines.

Southeastern exposition of the vineyards planted in white varieties and southwestern orientation of the plots with red varieties enable good exposition of grapes to the sun, which, together with specific and favorable geological and climate characteristics of this area provide excellent conditions for a proper and healthy growth of the vine, as well as for good ripening of grapes. The result is a high percentage of sugar in the grapes, in some years even up to 25-26%, which is an extraordinary potential for the creation of strong, complex wines with distinctive character.

Specific soil structure, with a combination of various soil types – loam, clay, shale and lime – provides a base where, in line with moderate geological and climate parameters, we are building a unique terroir whose characteristics is truly reflected in our wines.

Nature in this region is very kind to grapes, and by timely harvest, by seizing a balance between technological and biological ripeness of the grapes, we are trying to preserve the best of what it gives us. The same principle is applied in 25 hectares of our cooperative vineyards.

Miodrag Radovanovi? has imprinted thirty years of experience as an oenologist and the knowledge base gained at the University of Belgrade into all our wines, making them distinctive and authentic.

As one of the best and most experienced Serbian viticulturists, he knew how to combine the abundance of nature and serious and systematic work, first in the vineyard, and then in the cellar as well.

“In our case, the primary and only goal of using modern technology is to preserve what grapes give us when it is harvested and to create a distinct link between its best characteristics and those reflected in our wines.”

Along with the production part of the winery, featuring state of the art equipment that enables us to apply the latest information in oenology, we are especially proud of the part of our cellar where, as in a type of art workshop, we keep our highest quality wines in baroque barrels made of French, American and Serbian oaks.